News & Announcements

ERFCU receives national award for financial education

Credit Union National Association’s (CUNA) National Awards Committee announced the 2021 recipients of the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award, and the Desjardins Awards for Financial Education. State Leagues across the nation select winners in various asset sizes, these league winners are then considered for the National Awards.

“Congratulations to the 2021 award winners for their outstanding accomplishments. We celebrate the work that each institution has done to promote financial wellbeing within their respective communities,” said CUNA President/CEO Jim Nussle. “Each award recipient represents the spirit of what credit unions are all about – people helping people.”

The Desjardins Awards honors credit unions, chapters, and leagues for their commitment to both youth and adult financial literacy. First-place winners for the Desjardins Awards include:Des Jardins Award

Desjardins Adult

  • East River Federal Credit Union (South Dakota)
  • Community Credit Union (Maine)
  • Financial Center First Credit Union (Indiana)
  • Delta Community Credit Union (Georgia)

All the winners and the 2021 Award Winners Booklet can be found on CUNA's Awards page.

Credit Union National Association (CUNA) is the only national association that advocates on behalf of all of America’s credit unions, which are owned by 120 million consumer members. CUNA, along with its network of affiliated state credit union leagues, delivers unwavering advocacy, continuous professional growth and operational confidence to protect the best interests of all credit unions. For more information about CUNA, visit To find your nearest credit union, visit

View All News & Announcements »